Little River Campground

Little River Campground 287a Okuti Valley Road, Little River 7591 view on map
Little River Campground
10
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
  • Little River Campground
Booking is subject to confirmation
Loading calendar...

Affordable accommodation on Banks Peninsula, 30mins to Akaroa. The Gateway to Banks Peninsula we offer much more than a holiday park. Our campground is rated highly by bookit customers and on line reviews like Trip Advisor and camping apps . Please read on so you know what to expect.

A classic Kiwi campground in the peaceful Okuti Valley, 45mins from Christchurch. Camping like it use to be. Rustic cabins, powered and tent sites for camper vans, caravans and secluded tent sites. Eco, dry composting toilets, with 3 hot showers ($2 for 5mins). Free Wifi hotspot (conditions apply- no games or downloads). Sunny or shady sites and on arrival choose the most suitable available. Over busy times sites can be very snug. Patience is asked for over busy periods, as our facilities are limited. The experience is more about the native habitat than the luxuries of some holiday park chain. They don't usually have scary slippery slides, giant swings or rivers and native bush reserve! The camp is perfect for kids to get back to nature, play on the in-ground trampoline or have a kick around.
Parking is in the carpark, or on the road at very busy times to keep the camp area safer for kids and to make the camp area more pleasant.

Our covered kitchen area for campers has a fridge/freezer, toaster, jug, gas hobs and microwave. 3 sinks with hot and cold water for dishes.
Fees from $15/adult, $10 kids under 14- and from $75 for a cabin.
Ideal for a group and can be cheaper than a dorm room at a backpackers.

Unique 7.5h park like, riverside setting with native forest walks and picturesque views. Ideal for 'off the beaten track' explorers wanting to find the real NZ. Local knowledge on the best beaches, surf and activities. From $15/adult. There are powered sites for camper-vans, cabins and camp areas. Back to Nature camping.

  • 100% Guest Reviews 2014
  • 100% Guest Reviews 2015
  • Ablution Block
  • Barbecue
  • Check-in Time: 2:00pm
  • Check-out Time: 12:00pm
  • Clothesline
  • Communal Kitchen
  • Free parking
  • Fridge/Freezer
  • Helipad
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Hire
  • Parking - Free
  • Pet friendly
  • Playground
  • Shower Facilities
  • Toilet Facilities
  • Weddings
Little River Campground
  • We enjoyed our time here, It is a small campground with fun little trails to see things around the campground. Very family friendly, even though we didn't have children, we enjoyed our time there. Marcus kept the showers and bathrooms spotless. 5
    DEBORAH ANDARIESE - Mar 30, 2020 (Stayed Mar 2020) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for the review Deborah, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here and maybe we will see you again in the future. We are closed for winter and hope to be back open in early october- spring is beautiful here with the Kowhai and daffodils in flower. Take care, Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • Fantastic spot with a nice friendly feel too the place. Very relaxing. Had a great weekend with a group of Teardrop Campers 5
    GARY HITCHCOCK - Feb 7, 2020 (Stayed Jan 2020) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks Gary, I love the teardrops (and t bucket) so hope to see you again. Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • My son enjoyed his first authentic camping experience. Both the night sky and early morning bird song were amazing. 4
    DAVID CORLETT - Feb 7, 2020 (Stayed Jan 2020) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for the review David and all the best with your continued camping experiences with your son. Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • We stayed from Friday to Sunday in late January. Basic facilities are all provided including fridge, kitchen, bathrooms and showers. Great for families with young children especially the river. Fantastic atmosphere. Very convenient. Only reason for 4 stars is because there were a lot of caterpillars everywhere. You get used to it but it did get quite annoying as they got into everything. 4
    Brian - Feb 1, 2020 (Stayed Jan 2020) Travelbug verified review
  • Hi Brian, Thanks for the feedback and good review....the caterpillars are only in late January and have 99% gone!! (1 Feb). They are the native Kowhai moth caterpiller and eat their favourite tree, the kowhai. It is natural but not great if you are camped near the trees. Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • What a great little campground. None of that huge-paddock-with-100-sites nonsense. Lovely environment with a few cozy little areas for camping. Love the evening campfire, the composting (no smell!) toilets which were always clean, the showers are fantastic, friendly host, nice walks in the bush. we'll def be back. 5
    DAVID PAULEY - Jan 25, 2020 (Stayed Dec 2019) Travelbug verified review
  • Hello David, thanks for the great review and summing up of 'our little camp'. See you again sometime and enjoy the rest of summer. Cheers Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • Lovely spot. Good nature activities. 5
    KATHRINE CHRISTENSEN - Nov 26, 2019 (Stayed Nov 2019) Travelbug verified review
  • Thank you Katherine, All the best with your holidays and safe travels. Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • Absolutely stunning campsite. Really nice that we could bring our dog. Marcus is super friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend for families and dog lovers. Gets crowded so if you’re super keen on privacy or quiet this one is not for you. 5
    LISA DE VISSER - Nov 8, 2019 (Stayed Nov 2019) Travelbug verified review
  • Hi Lisa, thanks for the great review. It does get busy on weekends, so if you're keen on quiet visit during the week. Its so peaceful with just the birds and the river noise. See you again I hope. Cheers Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • Excellent experience. Loved the boutique nature of the campground, family feel, special events arranged for families, peace and quiet. Appreciated the rugby on tv set up in kitchen - even though result disappointing! 5
    LIZ DEPREE - Nov 2, 2019 (Stayed Oct 2019) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for the great feedback. It was a great weekend with a nice crowd, so thank you. Yeah, pity about the rugby eh (All Blacks lost to England!), but better than being at the pub! (imagine the vibe). See you again. Marcus
    Little River Campground
Little River Campground
  • Beautiful, rustic campsite with character - loved it. We were able to camp in a quiet clearing away from other campers but still close to amenities. 4
    LYNDSAY - Apr 26, 2019 (Stayed Apr 2019) Travelbug verified review
Little River Campground
  • Awesome little Campsite with lovely native bush trails. Friendly hosts. The kitchen is minimal so do bring pots and pans too cook on. Water needs to be boiled. They had a campfire which was awesome and so warm which is what we needed because it was cold! 4
    NIKI MARITZ - Apr 26, 2019 (Stayed Apr 2019) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for the review and feedback. Autumn is cold in the valley, but we do have occasional campfires, great for toasting marsh mellows and socialising. The council require us to say boil all water, but it does go past a UV filter. From Marcus, (I try and be a friendly host).
    Little River Campground

Add a comment about your experience with Little River Campground

Travelbug comments are verified. Your comment will only appear if you have had a confirmed booking with the business provider via Travelbug (use the same email address that you booked with). Refer to our comments terms and conditions for more information

1,000 characters remaining