Taupo Urban Retreat

Taupo Urban Retreat Heu Heu Street, Taupo view on map
Taupo Urban Retreat
6
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Taupo Urban Retreat
Loading calendar...

Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat - your home away from home! Free unlimited WIFI and computers, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants and the shores of the stunning Great Lake Taupo - yet far enough away to get a good night’s sleep. Not to mention we are only minutes away from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available.

At Urban we have a sociable yet chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $3 more get a cold beer or wine to wash it down. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen with free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too!

Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you’re all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn!

We’d love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We’ve been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you’re looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! Still have energy to burn? We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. If you are moving on, our awesome team can help you book your onwards travel – be warned you may find you never want to leave Taupo!

  • 4 Stars
  • Bar
  • Barbecue
  • Board Games
  • Check-in Time: 2:00pm
  • Check-out Time 10:00am
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Communal Kitchen
  • DVD Player
  • Eftpos
  • Free parking
  • Freeview
  • Guest Laundry
  • Gymnasium
  • In-house movies
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking - Free
  • Parking - Off street
  • Photocopier
  • Pool Table
  • Serviced Rooms Daily
  • Shower Facilities
  • Toilet Facilities
  • Travel Desk
  • TV Room
  • Unlimited free wifi
  • Washing machine and dryer
Taupo Urban Retreat
  • My wife and I have appreciated staying there. It was clean with good service. 5
    JEAN CHALIFOUR - Apr 12, 2017 (Stayed Apr 2017) Travelbug verified review
Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Individual who helped me did excellent job! Someone in training. I 5
    JUNE MILLIARD - Aug 20, 2016 (Stayed Aug 2016) Travelbug verified review
  • Thank you for your positive comment, it's always nice to hear great feedback! All the best, Sarah
    Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Very friendly and professional service. 5
    TON KLINK - Feb 24, 2016 (Stayed Feb 2016) Travelbug verified review
  • Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels :-)
    Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Very good 5
    IRMGRARD COERSCHULTE - Jan 2, 2016 (Stayed Dec 2015) Travelbug verified review
  • Thank you so much for leaving such a great review. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. Katie :)
    Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
  • Felt very uncomfortable staying with other unknown males in the same room, would prefer to be in a female dorm but unfortunately they are also expecting some males into another dorm that same night so if they had changed my dorm, it would be the same too! 3
    KAM LIN YIK - Apr 7, 2015 (Stayed Mar 2015) Travelbug verified review
  • We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable being with other males. Unfortunately when the booking was made there was not a request for a female only room as this is something we are able to arrange with prior notice. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
    Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
  • I like the setup of this place bar on on side kitchen on the other. Everyone came in the middle to chat, eat and drink. Free computer and internet access. Friendly receptionist and great host. Bathroom and toilets could be separated in the ensuite with more than just curtains to avoid sweeping water. . 5
    VARUNESH - Aug 13, 2014 (Stayed Aug 2014) Travelbug verified review
  • Thank you for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a squeegee in that bathroom as it is also for wheel chair access which prevents any form of barrier unfortunately. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
    Taupo Urban Retreat

Add a comment about your experience with Taupo Urban Retreat

Travelbug comments are verified. Your comment will only appear if you have had a confirmed booking with the business provider via Travelbug (use the same email address that you booked with). Refer to our comments terms and conditions for more information

1,000 characters remaining