• Browse
  • Cars
  • Shortlist
  • Deals
  • Secret Sale

Aroha Island

Aroha Island 177 Rangitane Road, Rangitane, Kerikeri - Bay of Islands view on map
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
  • Aroha Island
Booking is subject to confirmation
Loading calendar...

Aroha Island offers bush cottage, lodge accommodation and a sheltered beachside campground in a 12 ha nature and bird sanctuary. The Island is connected to the mainland by a causeway and is only 12km north-east of Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands.

North Island Brown Kiwi use Aroha Island as their wild habitat home and guests have the opportunity to hear and see them at night either on a guided or self guided walk (November to July). Other rare birds also live and visit Aroha Island.

Aroha Island offers a delightful setting for weddings and other functions and provides an inspiring venue for retreats, seminars and conferences. The Visitor Centre can also be used for various kinds of community meetings.

Aroha was re-opened on Dec. 16 2007 after thorough renovations by the newly established volunteer community group, Aroha Island Charitable Trust and with help from funders, countless volunteers and donations.

If guests are arriving later than 7pm, we would ask that the guests contact the office to make arrangements for late check-in.

  • 100% Guest Reviews 2013
  • 100% Guest Reviews 2014
  • 100% Guest Reviews 2015
  • Best Guest Reviews 2011
  • Air Conditioning
  • Balcony/Courtyard
  • Barbecue
  • Breakfasts
  • Check-in Time: 2:00pm
  • Check-out Time 10:00am
  • Clothesline
  • Communal Kitchen
  • Conference Room
  • Eftpos
  • Fax
  • Freeview
  • Fridge/Freezer
  • Function Room
  • High Speed wireless internet
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Library
  • Non Smoking
  • Parking - Free
  • Photocopier
  • Shower Facilities
  • Souvenirs
  • Tea Rooms
  • Toilet Facilities
  • Weddings
  • Wheelchair Access
Aroha Island
  • We had a wonderful time at Aroha Island. Very relaxing and so magical to do the night walks looking for kiwi. We didn’t see any but the excitement of possibly seeing one and just being out at night in the dark, listening to the night was very magical. The staff were so kind and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. 5
    FELICITY WAKEFIELD - Dec 24, 2017 (Stayed Dec 2017) Travelbug verified review
Aroha Island
  • Many thanks to Aroha Island for the wonderful stay, wish we could have stayed longer. Spacious and comfortable. 5
    KATE LOMAN-SMITH - Oct 27, 2016 (Stayed Oct 2016) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for coming to stay on Aroha Island in our Kiwi Lodge. The Kiwi Lodge has amazing views over the Kerikeri inlet, is spacious, comfortable and peaceful.
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • What an awesome place 5
    ADRIAN HUMPHREYS - Oct 12, 2016 (Stayed Oct 2016) Travelbug verified review
  • It was a pleasure to have you back again on Aroha Island. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • Beautiful place, very peaceful, the cottage was very comfortable. Went out for a walk at night to look for kiwi (managers provide red cellophane for torches) and found one very easily, though others the same night seem to have had less success. The camping ground also looks like a really good place. 5
    David - Mar 25, 2016 (Stayed Mar 2016) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for coming to stay at Aroha Island. We are glad that you got to see a kiwi in the wild, it is something very special.
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • Great team of people. Nice comfortable cabins. 4
    PETER WILLIAMS - Jan 15, 2016 (Stayed Jan 2016) Travelbug verified review
  • Thanks for staying on Aroha Island, glad everything was confortable for you
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • Thank you Wendy and Simon for a wonderful four days. We learnt a lot about Kiwi and specifically about Hayden, Henrietta and Mona. Fantail Cottage is excellent. The kayaking was great fun on a windy day! Loved the place and can't wait to come back. So much else to see as well as Kiwi too. 5
    ERIN KEENAN - Dec 24, 2015 (Stayed Dec 2015) Travelbug verified review
  • Hi Erin, It was our pleasure to have you all to stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I still have my special Kiwi picture and will treasure it. Happy New Year - may 2016 be a good year for all. Wendy & Simon Managers Aroha Island
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • Well presented cottage and enjoyed the bird life living there. 5
    MR D COPE - Dec 13, 2015 (Stayed Dec 2015) Travelbug verified review
  • THANK YOU FOR STAYING ON AROHA ISLAND. WE ARE GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • Beautiful accomodation 5
    KIRSTY PREWER - Dec 12, 2015 (Stayed Dec 2015) Travelbug verified review
  • THANK YOU FOR STAYING ON BEAUTIFUL AROHA ISLAND, SO GLAD YOU HAD A GOOD STAY.
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • We stayed in the Tui cottage, nestled in this preserve. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us, a small kitchen, beautiful deck where we could watch and listen to birds, and trails right at our doorstep. Added one night to our booking (stayed total of 4), we liked it so much!! Went looking for kiwis each night and each night saw at least 3 kiwis foraging in the bush. Best vacation experience ever!! 5
    SVETLANA KLIER - Aug 15, 2015 (Stayed Aug 2015) Travelbug verified review
  • Thank you for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay. If you want to see Kiwi in the wild then this is the place to stay. Beautiful bush, lots birdlife, beach, peace and quiet. Idyllic. Aroha Island.
    Aroha Island
Aroha Island
  • Really nice staff. comfy cottage but best of all, we saw a kiwi! 5
    MINDY LIEBERT - Jun 24, 2015 (Stayed Jun 2015) Travelbug verified review

Add a comment about your experience with Aroha Island

Travelbug comments are verified. Your comment will only appear if you have had a confirmed booking with the business provider via Travelbug (use the same email address that you booked with). Refer to our comments terms and conditions for more information

1,000 characters remaining